IPL 2020: David Warner Reinstated as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s captain

Australia’s explosive opener David Warner has been reinstated Sunrisers Hyderabad captain for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2020. Warner had to give up captaincy in 2018 after the ball-tampering scandal. The 33-year-old batsman will take the lead of Sunrisers Hyderabad from New Zealander skipper Kane Williamson for the season starting on March 29.

“I am thrilled to be given the captaincy for this coming IPL 2020. I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity to lead the side once again” Warner said in a video posted by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

I’d like to thank Kane (Williamson) for the way you guys led the team throughout the last couple of years and I’d be leaning on you guys for support and insight to the game as well,” he said.

Warner led the franchise to win the IPL trophy in 2016 and stepped down as captain in 2018 in the aftermath of the ball-tampering scandal. In March 2018, Australia was playing its third test match against South Africa in Cape Town. Cameron Bancroft was caught using sandpaper to tamper the ball.

Warner and captain Steve Smith were both slapped for one year ban for conspiring to do it while Bancroft was suspended for nine months. Warner made a successful return to international cricket after serving a year ban before last year’s ODI World Cup and he was the second-highest run-getter with 647 runs at an average of 71.88, just one run behind India’s Rohit Sharma.

Warner also awarded Allan Border Medal for the third time earlier in February. He was Australia’s best batsman in the World Cup. 

In the absence of Warner, Kane Williamson from New Zealand led the Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 and finished Runners Up.
The team will start its campaign against defending champions Mumbai Indians on April 1 in Hyderabad.

Leave a Comment