Orange Cap Winner Who Score Highest in IPL 2022, Best Batsman

The IPL Orange Cap is the award for the top run-scorer in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Orange Cap in IPL is the award shuffles from one batter to another as the league matches of IPL progress and is finally given to the highest run-getter at the end of the tournament. The highest run-scorer will wear the Orange Cap while fielding, and the overall top scorer of IPL will get the actual Orange Cap award on the final day.

The Orange Cap award was introduced in the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) back in 2008. The Australian batsman Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear the Orange Cap, while Shaun Marsh was the first actual award winner at the end of the tournament. Take a look at the IPL Orange Cap Winners List 2008 to 2021.

Top 5 Batters in IPL 2022 So Far

The IPL 2022 season is about to this electrifying festival, we saw the addition of two new teams that have made it to the playoffs. IPL 2022 has set the new standards higher than the previous editions leaving fans with more to expect in the upcoming IPL 2023. Here, we are looking at the five best batters who scored the most runs in IPL this year.

Jos Buttler

On the top of the list, we have Jos Buttler from Rajasthan Royals, dominating the chart with stunning 824 runs in 16 matches. Jos Buttler is assuredly the winner of Orange Cap this year as no other batter is even close to him. With four centuries in a single IPL season, he has equaled the record of Virat Kohli.

Rajasthan Royals is now ready to play the IPL 2022 Final against Gujrat Titans.

KL Rahul

KL Rahul from Lucknow Super Giants is second on the list with 616 scores in 15 matches with an average of 51.33. Rahul is a great example of consistency in IPL. He has scored more than 500 runs for the fifth time in a row. Rahul scored two centuries and three fifties in IPL 2022.

Unfortunately, LSG is out of the tournament, so KL Rahul cannot win the Orange Cap this year, but certainly, he is one of the best batters in the Indian Premier League.

Quinton de Kock

Quinton de Kock is standing 3rd on the list with 508 runs. De Kock was on 362 runs in 13 matches, but against KKR, he scored 140 runs incredibly and placed himself on the third spot in the list of best batters in IPL 2022 so far. LSG won that match by just two runs, but they could not make it to the playoffs.

Faf du Plessis

On Number 4, we have Faf du Plessis from RCB with 468 runs in 16 matches with an average of 31.2 and a strike rate of 127.52. His last innings was 25 (27) against Rajasthan Royals. RCB lost the game and is now out of the race for IPL 2022 trophy. Du Plessis scored three fifties in this season, but sadly he is out of the contest now.

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan from PBKS is in fifth place with 460 runs in 14 matches with an average of 38.33 and a strike rate of 122.66. Dhawan scored three fifties in this IPL season, but his team cannot make it to the playoffs. Recently, Dhawan’s Instagram video is getting viral in which he got beaten up by his father after PBKS got knocked out. Source

Currently, Jos Buttler is the leading run-getter, and he will be the winner of the Orange Cap Race in IPL 2022.

Winning an Orange Cap in IPL is the dream of every batter, and some of the cricket’s greatest names have done this job implausibly. We go to the past’s lost streets to find out the Orange Cap Winners from each year of the Indian Premier League.

Orange Cap Winner History

YearPlayer NameTeamInningsRunsAverageStrike Rate
2008Shaun MarshKXIP1161668.44139.68
2009Matthew HaydenCSK1267252144.81
2010Sachin TendulkarMI1561847.53132.61
2011Chris GayleRCB1260867.55183.13
2012Chris GayleRCB1473361.08160.74
2013Michael HusseyCSK1773352.35129.5
2014Robin UthappaKKR1666044137.78
2015David WarnerSRH1456243.23156.54
2016Virat KohliRCB1697381.08152.03
2017David WarnerSRH1464158.27141.81
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH1773552.5142.44
2019David WarnerSRH1269269.2143.86
2020KL RahulKXIP1467055.83129.34
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK1663545.35136.26

Orange Cap Winners of All Seasons with Photos

IPL 2008 Orange Cap Winner: Shaun Marsh

IPL 2009 Orange Cap Winner: Matthew Hayden

IPL 2010 Orange Cap Winner: Sachin Tendulkar

IPL 2011 Orange Cap Winner: Chris Gayle

IPL 2012 Orange Cap Winner: Chris Gayle

IPL 2013 Orange Cap Winner: Michael Hussey

IPL 2014 Orange Cap Winner: Robin Uthappa

IPL 2015 Orange Cap Winner: David Warner

IPL 2016 Orange Cap Winner: Virat Kohli

IPL 2017 Orange Cap Winner: David Warner

IPL 2018 Orange Cap Winner: Kane Williamson

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner: David Warner

IPL 2020 Orange Cap Winner: KL Rahul

IPL 2021 Orange Cap Winner: Ruturaj Gaikwad

Categories IPL

Leave a Comment