BPL 2020 Players Price, Franchise Owners and Sponsors

The Bangladesh Premier League 2020 also known as the Bangabandhu BPL or BPL 7 is about to kick off at the end of the year 2019. The team coaches, captains, ownership,  sponsors and live broadcast partners are ready. You will be surprised to see high price players in BPL league 2019-20. The competition is organized by the BCB (Bangladesh Cricket Board). Though the season was scheduled to start on 6th December 2019 but due to some reasons, it will start from 11th December to 16 January 2020. The opening ceremony of the league will be held on 8th December 2019.

BPL 2020 League Franchise Owners, Coach, Captain, Sponsors

In contrast to the previous BPL series, this year, BCB changed the number of rules. In 2019-20 league BCB (Bangladesh Cricket Board) reserved the rights for ownership of all teams. Meanwhile, they are allowing a couple of sponsors to take part in this league. There were some rumours about match-fixing in the past few years. Due to past experiences, BCB is now very strict about the reputation of the league. That’s why they are making these hard decisions to make the game a fair play.

Here is the information about team owners, coaches, captains and sponsors.  

Chattogram Challengers

  • Head Coach: Paul Nixon
  • Captain: Mahmudullah
  • Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board
  • Sponsor: Akhtar Group

Formerly known as Chittagong Kings and then Chittagong Vikings, the Chattogram Challengers is one of the original members of the BPL since 2012. This BPL franchise was owned by the DBL Sports Limited but the rights were terminated by the BCB on 29 July 2019. After the changing in rules, BCB acquired the ownership of all the BPL Franchises for the 2019-2020 season. The team was renamed to the Chattogram Challengers on 16 November 2019 and Aktar Group was named as its sponsor.

Cumilla Warriors

  • Head Coach: Ottis Gibson
  • Captain: Imrul Kayes
  • Owner: Legends Sporting Limited
  • Sponsors: Bangladesh Cricket Board

The two times champion Cumilla Warriors is one of the most successful teams of the BPL. The current owner of the franchise is Nafisa Kamal. The team was formerly named as Comilla Victorians but on 16 November, the team was renamed to Cumilla Warriors. Bangladesh Cricket Board is sponsoring the team. The Captain of Cumilla Warriors is Bangladesh Cricket Star Imrul Kayes.

Dhaka Platoon

Head Coach: Mohammad Salahuddin

Captain: Mashrafe Mortaza

Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board

Sponsor: Jamuna Bank

The 3 team BPL winner is the most successful team of the league. Formerly known as the Dhaka Gladiators and Dhaka Dynamites, the team won the both 2012 and 2013 season consecutively. The current owner of the Dhaka Platoon is Bangladesh Cricket board and Jamuna Bank is sponsoring the team. The Captain of Dhaka Platoon for BPL 2020 is Mashrafe Mortaza.

Khulna Tigers

  • Head Coach: James Foster
  • Captain: Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board
  • Sponsor: Premier Bank Limited

The team participated in the first two seasons with the team name of Khulna Royal Bengals. The team was renamed to Khulna Tigers on 16 November when the Premier Bank Limited was announced as their sponsor. The captain of the team is Mushfiqur Rahim but the Head Coach is yet to be decided.

Rajshahi Royals

Head Coach: Owais Shah

Captain: Shoaib Malik

Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board

Sponsor: IPC

Representing Rajshahi Division in BPL, the Rajshahi Royals are sponsored by IPC. Previously known as Duronto Rajshahi and Rajshahi Kings, the captain of the Rajshahi Royals is Pakistan Star Shoaib Malik. The head coach of the team is Owais Shah. The team is owned by Bangladesh Cricket Board after the conflict with the franchises in 2019.

Rangpur Rangers

Head Coach: Grant Flower

Captain: Mashrafe Mortaza

Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board

Sponsor: Bangladesh Cricket Board

The 2017 champions of BPL 5 Rangpur riders defeated Dhaka Dynamites in the final to win their first title. This BPL team is owned and sponsored by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. The head coach of Rangpur Rangers is Grant Flower and the team captain is yet to be decided.

Sylhet Thunder

Head Coach: Herschelle Gibbs

Captain: Yet to be decided

Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board

Sponsor: Givani Footwear

The franchise was included in the BPL in 2017 as the team was suspended after the first two seasons of BPL. The team was previously known as the Sylhet Royals, Sylhet Super Stars, and the Sylhet Sixers. The team was renamed to Sylhet Thunder on 16 November 2019 when the Givani Footwear was officially announced as the sponsor of the team. Herschelle Gibbs is the head coach of Sylhet Thunder for BPL 2020. The teamed is owned the Bangladesh Cricket Board. The captain of the team is yet to be announced.

BPL T20 League 2019-20 Player Price

The player draft for the BPL 2020 was held on 17 November 2019. A total of 620 players including 439 foreign players and 181 domestic players signed up for BPL season. The players are divided into different categories and each category has a different price.

Foreign Players Price For BPL T20 League 2020

Foreign players are divided into 3 categories that are A+, A and B.

BPL 2019-20 Overseas Player Price:













There are 11 A+ category players that include:

Player Name

Shahid Afridi

Shoaib Malik

Chris Gayle

Mohammad Nabi

Rilee Rossouw

Dwayne Smith




West Indies


South Africa

West Indies

A, B, C and D Category list is yet to be announced.

Domestic Player Price For BPL League 2020

The players in domestic categories into 6 categories.















A+ Category in domestic players includes:

  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Mahmudullah
  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Mashrafe Mortaza

BPL T20 League 2020 Player Selection Rules

  • Each team has the right to buy 1 player from Category A, 3 each from Category B and C and 2 each from Category D and E.
  • Each team can buy one domestic Category A player but there are only four A+ domestic players on the list. So, as an alternative, the remaining teams can buy two Category A players as an alternative to A+.
  • Each team is limited to buy 19 players with 8 foreign and 11 domestic players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *