IPL 2020 All Emerging Player Award Winners

We have a look, as we go towards the thirteenth season of Indian Premier League (IPL). The likes of Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal have all been fast-tracked to the Indian team after their glorious show in the T20 extravaganza. Not only boys from India, but overseas players like Shaun Marsh, Chris Morris, and Marcus Stoinis made their international debut after impressing in the IPL. Providing a platform into the aspiring and young players to prove their mettle by performing against global stars was among the important objectives behind the beginning of this Indian Premier League (IPL). After finishing twelve seasons, it could be stated that the objective was achieved to a large extent.

Note: Here are the eligibility criteria for the award (as of IPL 2019): The league has its own method of rewarding the breakthrough performer of this year in the form of the Player of the year award.

  • A player should be born on or after 1 April 1993
  • Played 5 or fewer Test matches or 20 or less ODI’s
  • Played in 25 or less IPL matches (as of the start of the season)
  • Should have not previously won the Emerging Player Award.

Table of Contents

2008 – Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

He was the wicket-keeper of World cup 2008 U-19 winner team headed by Virat Kohli. Shreevats Goswami was the winner of the Emerging Player of the year award at the inaugural version of this IPL. Goswami represented Royal Challengers Bangalore, who was at the seventh place on the points table at the end of the league. Goswami played four games and scored 82 runs, with an average of 27.33 along with a hit rate of 96.47. He also scored one half-century that year (52), and four dismissals behind the wicket (two catches and two stumpings)

2009 – Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)

Rohit Sharma played an important part in the Deccan Chargers’ IPL triumph. Already a promising kid on the international circuit, he scored 362 runs in 16 matches with an average of both 27.84 and a hit rate of 114.92. Although he scored less than his final tally from the 2008 edition, he played with some practical knocks at crucial situations, including a scintillating knock of 32* (13) against Kolkata Knight Riders.

2010 – Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)

Having made his IPL introduction for Mumbai Indians at 2008, Saurabh Tiwary entered the 2010 edition with only seven matches. Following two seasons where he didn’t get many chances, it was Tiwary’s time to shine. He scored 419 runs from 16 games at an average of 29.92 and a hit rate of 135.59.

2011 – Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Iqbal just played four games in the first three seasons of the IPL, then he finally got the chance to shine in 2011. In 15 matches he did 16 dismissals with an economy rate of 6.10.Being one of those main spinners at the KKR side, Abdulla helped his team reach the play-offs – a first to the Kolkata-based team in four seasons of the IPL.

2012 – Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)

Mandeep was the part of the Indian squad in 2010 under 19 cricket world cup.In 2011 auction he was bought by Kings XI Punjab.In 2011 IPL he just played six matches but in 2012 he showed his skills and scored 432 runs in 16 matches with an average of 27.00 and a strike rate of 126.31.

2013 – Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Sanju was recognised when scored splendid 63 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore while chasing a difficult target of 172. Getting his luck when routine wicket-keeper Dishant Yagnik got injured, Samson grabbed the chance with both hands. With 206 runs from 11 games with an average of 25.75 along with a strike rate of 115.73 plus some genuinely impressive strokeplay, Samson bagged the Emerging Player of the year award in his very first IPL season.

2014 – Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)

Axar Patel is an all-rounder from Gujrat and he started his career in IPL 2014 from Kings XI Punjab. This season was dominated by Glenn Maxwell and David Miller and Axar was the unsung hero in his side’s journey to the finals. He took 17 wickets in 17 matches with an economy of 6.13. Patel scored 62 runs with an average of 10.33 as well.

2015 – Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils)

Delhi Daredevils which is now Delhi Capitals picked Sheryas in IPL 2015, 8th season of the league. Though this was a disappointing season for his team and they finished at the 7th spot on the points table but Iyer scored 439 runs with four fifties in 14 matches at the average of 33.76 and a strike rate of 128.36.

2016 – Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Troubling India with his accurate off-cutters in his debut series, Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016 purchased Mustafizur Rahman. He played a vital role in the title-winning campaign for Sunrisers since he bowled in tandem with Bhuvneswar Kumar. With 17 wickets from 16 games under his belt at an impressive economy of 6.90, he remains the solo non-Indian player to win the IPL Emerging Player of the year award.

2017 – Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)

He got the attention of franchises with his impressive speed and amazing yorkers on the domestic level.In 2017 auction Thampi was bought by Gujrat Lions. He took 11 wickets in 12 matches at an economy rate of 9.49. Though his economy rate was higher, his pace and ability to bowl yorkers earned him the Emerging Player of the year award for that season.

2018 – Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)

The current wicket-keeper of this Indian team, Rishabh Pant was retained by Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils) in 2018 edition of IPL. Pant was the shining star. In 14 games, he scored 684 runs at an average of 52.61 along with a hit rate of 173.60. Pant had scored 5 fifties and a century (128*) under his belt and was clearly the best one of the players that season.

2019 – Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Shubhman was the part of India 2018 U-19 World Cup Squad and he played a vital role in the win. In 2018 auction, he was bought by Kolkata knight Riders. Unfortunately, he did not get many chances as he batted mostly on number six or seven. In IPL 2019, he got more chances at the top order and scored 296 runs in 14 matches at an average of 32.88and a strike rate of 124.36. Among the brightest young prospects in domestic cricket, Gill is the latest recipient of the Emerging Player of the year award.

Categories IPL

Leave a Comment